The crew of a British whaling ship placed a wooden barrel here in 1793, in which home-bound mail was left. It and later replacements have been used intermittently by sailors and others as an informal post office to the present day.
Visitors looked through the letters or cards in the barrel, and took those with addresses near their home towns for hand delivery.
Nowadays the post office is mainly used for fun, but in the past it was an important means of communication for sailors who were away for years on end.
It is an accepted practice for visiting yachts to leave their calling cards--painted, carved-out pieces of driftwood--on or around the post office.
On shore, the foundations of a short-lived Norwegian fish-canning factory (1926) can be seen. A short trail leads inland to a lava tube that extends to below sea level. Also in the area, another short trail leads to the Baroness's Lookout, which offers a spectacular view of Floreana.